CAASPP graphic Home Page  Contact Us  Glossary

California Standards Tests (CSTs)

General Information


The purchasable CSTs were developed by California educators and test developers specifically to measure students' progress toward achieving California's state-adopted academic content standards in English–language arts (ELA), mathematics, science, and history–social science, which describe what students should know and be able to do in each grade and subject tested.

Visit the STAR CST Blueprints page on the California Department of Education Web site to see the CST blueprints.

Who Will Take the CSTs?
LEAs can purchase multiple-choice CSTs for students in grades two through eleven take multiple-choice CSTs for various subjects or the writing assessment for students in grades four and/or seven. Tests not available for purchase are the required grade-level CSTs for Science and the optional CST for ELA (Grade 11), CST for Algebra II, and CST for Summative High School Mathematics.
STAR Tests heading
2014  Administration on
STAR  Administration heading
STAR  General Info heading
STAR Archive Library